Collaborative Technology and Research Alliances

Collaborative Technology and Research Alliances are partnerships between Army laboratories and centers, private industry and academia that are focusing on the rapid transition of innovative technologies to the Warfighter to enable the Army's Future Force.

The collaboration between industry, academia and the government is a key element of the alliance concept as each member brings with it a distinctly different approach to research. Academia is known for its cutting-edge innovation; the industrial partners are able to leverage existing research results for transition and to deal with technology bottlenecks; the Army Research Laboratory's researchers keep the program oriented toward solving complex Army technology problems. Thus multidisciplinary research teams are generating the complex technology needed to solve the Army's complex problems. This approach enables an Alliance to bring together world class research and development talent and focus it on Army-specific technology objectives for application to Army needs.

ARL has a history of successful collaborations bringing together the triad of industry, academia and government, dating back to the 1990s. There are currently four active CTAs: Micro Autonomous Systems and Technology (MAST), was awarded in 2008; Network Science (NS) CTA was awarded in 2009; and in 2010, the Robotics CTA and Cognition and Neuroergonomics (CAN) CTA were each awarded. In 2012, two Collaborative Research Alliances (CRA) were awarded: Electronic Materials, and Materials in Extreme Dynamic Environments. The most recent award, of a Collaborative Research Alliance in the area of Cyber Security, was awarded in 2013.

Further information including technical objectives for each Alliance, and a listing of the partner organizations are can be found on the various section of the individual Web page.

If you have questions or would like more information about Collaborative Alliances, please contact:

Ms. Tamara Christenson


Last Update / Reviewed: December 8, 2010