ARL recognizes Morgan State University Extreme Science Scholars

September 17, 2015

On Sept. 10, Morgan State University hosted an awards ceremony to recognize three new Extreme Science Scholars (ESS). The new ESS scholars, Oreoluwa Adesina, Hashmath Fathima, and Dennis Aryee were congratulated by Professor Lori Graham-Brady, Associate Director of the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute; Professor Alvin Kennedy, Interim Dean of the School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences Morgan State University; and Dr. John Beatty, Materials Research Engineer at the U.S. Army Research Laboratory.

Adesina is a sophomore electrical engineering major who said he hopes to gain a better understanding of how extreme material science and electrical engineering combine to obtain groundbreaking discoveries.

Fathima is in her first year as an engineering graduate student. She hopes to learn more about working with composites and create a network of researchers who can help build and develop new programs for equipment used in MSU's laboratories.

Ayree is also a first year graduate student who is majoring in physics. He said he's hoping this opportunity will help him develop a better understanding of materials science and how certain applications can benefit mankind.

The ESS program supports MSU students with funding through a cooperative agreement from ARL as part of the Enterprise for Multiscale Research of Materials. ESS program students are at the graduate and/or undergraduate level and pursuing a math, science, engineering or technology degree.

ESS is an expansion of the current Extreme Science Internship program between Morgan State University and Johns Hopkins University and is funded in part through ARL. The ESI program provides internal and external internships for selected MSU students. The students spend 8 to 15 weeks performing research activities at one of 15 institutions affiliated with the Materials in Extreme Dynamic Environments Collaborative Research Alliance within ARL's Enterprise for Multiscale Research of Materials.

"The recipients for this year's ESS program will receive tuition support for this academic year," said Beatty. "This program represents an investment in the future generation of scientists and engineers within the state of Maryland who will hopefully go onto careers in the government, academia and industry."


Last Update / Reviewed: September 17, 2015